top of page
Search

Publicizing my book and messing with AI in the process

Over the last few weeks, I have been working on several social media posts to highlight my upcoming book release.


Now, the main reason that I have been doing this is that I need something to do while I wait to hear back from my publishers. Yes, it is during that 13-week countdown that they put you on for them to say, Yea or Nea on your darn book, that complete Facebook forums are set up. Now that I have composed these, I can get folks attention.


So far, most of these have been me just trying to kill time. As you can see, most of these have progressed over time as I have started to work out what works, and some of the imagery has changed over time. This is the first video that I made.



This first video was me saying, Hey, I have a book out." Yeah, it was crude, but it was me saying that I wrote a book and was trying to do a quick get your attention ad. But as time passed, I started to work more on getting the attention of my target audience. This is the second video that I did, and I was refining the techniques to get my audience's attention. Also, this is the first video in which I started to use ChatGTP to help customize my messaging to my audience, as it helps to utilize most of the language of my book as a quick developmental blurb to get people's attention. This was crafted in Canva using clip art that I was able to find that matched some of the direct themes that I was looking for.



As you can see, most of the imagery works to get your attention, but as I started to progress, I started to realize that I needed more of an actionable theme for the messaging to get people to know that my book was coming out. The more I started to mess with AI systems, the more I realized I could start leveraging that "large language model" in my favor. Here it is: you have this huge database of ginormous information that has been gathered from all over the internet from all these blogs, webpages, and various tombs of material. Now combine it with me looking for the skills that I lack in marketing and some other graphical skills (I mean, I am good at putting a PowerPoint together to make sure that it won't put you to sleep, but nowhere near Steve Job's iPhone release production).


So taking that up, I started to ask what would be a good PowerPoint based on my book summary.


So I dumped my book outline for my novel into the system and let it run. It spit out several plot points about my book, which I placed into an AI image generator to create an image for each plot point. Each one of those scenes is from my novel and highlights some of the key events from the storylines. And here is the most current video that I have cooked up.



Now this last video makes my book feel more alive, like it is designed to get your attention. It is nowhere near the production value that a real public relations firm could pull off with some significant marketing. However, the AI-generated images and videos serve as a creative and cost-effective way to visually represent the plot points and engage potential readers. While they may not have the same level of professional polish, they still capture the essence of the storylines and pique curiosity about the novel's content. This may not be a perfect description of what I was looking for, but this is just me trying to kill some time.


What do you all think of the work that I did in trying to get the message out that I have a book ready for release? I would love to hear your thoughts and feedback on the visual representations I created to promote my upcoming book release. I believe that these visuals effectively convey the essence of the storylines and generate curiosity among potential readers.


Your input would be greatly appreciated as I strive to create a captivating and engaging marketing campaign for my novel. Send all comments in the chat window, and I will attempt to get back to you at my earliest convenience.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A preview of my upcoming book.

I put this together as I wait for my Betas to get back to me with revisions. Mostly this is me trying to drum up publicity on my upcoming book. Let me know what you think of the story, I can always re

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page